1. Make sure you have the appropriate license type
You must be on an active Personal license subscription.
2. Update to the most recent version of Geneious Prime
Make sure you are on the latest version of Geneious Prime (2023.1 or later). You can download the latest version here.
3. Login or Sign Up
If you already have a Geneious Prime My Account you are able to Login with this email and password.
If you do not have a My Account you can either set one up through the link above or Sign Up directly in Geneious Prime by clicking on Sign Up in the Login screen, and filling in the Sign Up form.
4. Import data
⚠️ Note that data in your local database is not automatically synced nor backed up to the Geneious Cloud Database (beta).
To begin working in Geneious Cloud Database (beta), import data in your preferred method (drag and drop, Add in the toolbar, File → Import in the menu) into the My Data folder or create a new folder. No data can be directly imported into the ☁️ Cloud Database (beta) or ☁️ Workspace.
5. Start working in the cloud
You're all set! Please familiarise yourself with the Known Limitations, then begin working in Geneious Prime with your data being stored in the cloud. Please send us any feedback you have at email@example.com.
6. Backing up data
⚠️ Note that data that is deleted in Geneious Cloud Database (beta) is permanently deleted, "Deleted Items" is not supported yet.
Data that is in Geneious Cloud Database (beta) is stored securely on the cloud so it is backed up by us already. However, we recommend keeping an offline backup, especially while this functionality is in beta. To do this, either keep a copy of your data in the Local database or export your Geneious Cloud Database (beta) folders to Geneious format.
Data that is in your local database is not automatically backed up to Geneious Cloud Database (beta). To backup data in your local database you currently need to copy this data to Geneious Cloud Database (beta). We do not recommend this as your primary backup solution while we are in the beta phase.
If you delete data in Geneious Cloud Database (beta) you will be asked to confirm this action. Once this data is erased, it cannot be recovered.
You may find these articles helpful:
Geneious Cloud Database (beta) FAQ