The Team and Enterprise subscriptions include access to a Geneious Cloud Shared Workspace, making it easy to share data with colleagues and safely centralize your datasets from directly inside Geneious Prime.
When users activate their Geneious Prime license for the first time, they are automatically logged in to the Geneious Cloud Workspace and will see all folders that have been shared with them. They will also see a private folder under Cloud → Workspace with their username. Any data stored here is private by default.
Please Note : The Geneious Cloud Shared Workspace can only be accessed by users added to your Teams or Enterprise license and data cannot be shared with others not on your license.
Folder Permissions and Sharing
Any user added to the Shared workspace can create new folders directly under the Workspace and control who has access to them. Folder permissions can only be set on top-level folders. Any subfolders will automatically inherit the same permissions as their parent folder and cannot be configured separately. For example: if you share a top-level folder as Read Only, every subfolder inside it will also be Read Only for those users.
To manage sharing on a folder, right-click on it and select Manage Sharing. From here you can add individual users and set their permission level.
The available permission levels for sharing are:
| Permissions | What users can do |
| Full Access | Users can view, add and edit documents and manage the folder's sharing settings. |
| Read and Write | Users can view, add, and edit documents. |
| Read Only | Users can view and reference documents in analyses but cannot make changes. |
Sharing with Your Whole Organization
Instead of adding users one at a time, you can use Share with : Your Whole Organisation option to configure sharing with everyone in your Geneious Cloud Workspace. This is useful for configuring folders that everyone should have access to, such as a Reference Genome Folder shared with Your Whole Organization and set to Read Only, this would let all users get read access to the data, use it in analyses but not edit this centralised resource.
Please Note : Geneious Cloud Workspace admins have elevated management permissions, but this does not grant them automatic access to all data. Admins can only see folders that have been explicitly shared with them. A user's private folders will remain private unless that user's account is deactivated (please see the below section on - Removing a Standard user)
Please see Geneious Cloud Workspace Admin roles for more details.
Create and Manage different sharing groups (Enterprise license only)
You can create named groups of users within the workspace — for example, by team or project — so you can share folders with the whole group at once rather than adding and configuring each user permissions individually.
Admin-only role for Geneious Cloud workspace
If you would like to assign a Geneious cloud workspace administrator who does not use the application, you can assign this user with the “Admin-only” role within the web portal: https://app.geneious.eu. This user will have full admin rights from the portal, without taking up one of your license seats.
Import Data to your Geneious Cloud Workspace
There are three ways to import your files and folders in your Geneious Cloud workspace :
- Drag and drop from your Local Geneious Prime database
- Drag and drop from a locally-hosted Shared Database
- Import documents stored from outside Geneious using the File → Import in the menu
Can users continue to use our locally-hosted shared database and their own Geneious local database in addition to the Geneious Cloud workspace.
Yes, Geneious Cloud Workspace works alongside your existing databases, rather than replacing them. You can continue using your Local database and locally-hosted Shared databases as normal, while also storing and sharing data via the Cloud Workspace.
View an Audit Log of the activity in your cloud workspace (Enterprise licenses only)
With Enterprise subscription, admins can access Geneious cloud Audit Log, which records key activity across your Cloud Workspace, including:
- When a Cloud folder or document is deleted, updated and who deleted it
- When folder sharing permissions are changed
- When a user is added to the workspace or to a group
Please see Geneious Cloud Audit Log article for more details.
Managing API Keys
Geneious Prime allows organization administrators to create API keys that can then be used to set up automations that interact with our Public REST API. Keys can be created by any existing users, or you may like to create a dedicated user to act as a service account, allowing you to clearly manage the data access permissions (but be aware that this will count towards your seat limit).
Please see Managing API Keys article for more details.