Note: To add or remove users from your license, we recommend you use Geneious My Account. Adding or removing users in the Cloud does not change Geneious seat allocations. For more information, see this article. When a user user is removed from the license via the My Account portal , their cloud data will be transferred automatically to the Primary workspace admin.
- Removing a standard user
When a user is deactivated from the Geneious cloud, workspace admin has the control of what to do with their cloud data. Data in the user's local Geneious Prime database, however, is not part of the Cloud Workspace and is unaffected by this process. It remains on that user's own computer. The user can backup their data in the local database following the instructions in How do I back up the local database?
Please note that removing a user from the Cloud Workspace is separate from managing their device activation — device activations are managed via the My Account portal, and not the Cloud web admin portal.
- Removing a user with admin role
If the user being removed is also an admin, a few extra steps are needed depending on which admin role they hold -
- License Admin - Any existing admin can remove another admin of the license. However, if the primary admin is changing you will need to reach out to Geneious Support team to assist with this.
- Cloud workspace Admin - Before removing a workspace admin you will need to have an alternative cloud workspace admin (if one doesn't already exist). Once there is an alternative admin, remove the user via the MyAccount portal as normal.
- Admin-only Cloud workspace Admin - They needed to be removed via Cloud web admin portal as they do not hold a license seat so cannot be removed via MyAccount.